Michigan adopted a new “Super Drunk Driving” law in 2010 that added stiffer penalties to drunk drivers with blood alcohol content (BAC) of .17% or greater. Jail time is doubled, alcohol treatment is mandatory, driving is forbidden for 45 days, and installation of an in-car breathalyzer is required for a conviction of “super drunk driving.”
When you calculate the higher fines, driver responsibility fees, cost of the alcohol treatment and cost of the ignition interlock device, a person convicted in Michigan of Super Drunk driving is looking at a minimum of $8,000 to $10,000 in fees, fines and associated costs. Plus, your insurance premiums will skyrocket.
That is why we encourage you to contact our experienced drunk driving lawyers, if you have been arrested or ticketed for Super Drunk Driving in Michigan. We understand the new laws, and we know what to do to get the best possible results in this difficult situation.
Many people think that there is a minimum blood alcohol content that must be shown to become convicted of drunk driving. This is not true. If the consumption of alcohol impairs or affects your ability to drive, you will be convicted of drunk driving. Driving after consuming just a few beers can put you at risk for a drunk driving.
Police officers don’t need much to pull you over for a drunk driving investigation. Committing most civil infractions or getting into an accident will obviously allow them to observe you to determine if you have been drinking alcohol. But police officers cannot pull you over for no reason. Police officers are highly trained to recognize the signs – bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, and the odor of intoxicants. Once the police have a reasonable belief that you have consumed alcohol, they have the right to order you to exit your vehicle. The police officer will ask you to perform field sobriety tests and submit to a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT). You have the right to refuse these tests but there are consequences. If you fail any of these tests the police officer has the right to arrest you for drunk driving and take you to jail.
Drunk driving offenses are considered criminal offenses in Michigan and will result in the suspension of your license and possible jail time. A drunk driving offense also carries between 4 to 6 points and will remain on your driving record for years. Most police officers are experienced in detecting drunk drivers. Even if there is no police around, a citizen can call the police and report you for a possible drunk driving arrest.
Being convicted of a drunk driving offense will give the court the right to fine you, throw you in jail, and/or put you on probation. The secretary of state will be notified and your license will be temporarily suspended. This can cost you thousands of dollars so make sure to call our office for a free consultation if you are arrested for drunk driving. Multiple drunk driving offenses can result in a felony and the revocation of your driving privileges.